First Line Friday | Three Line Tales

Hallo bookworms! Its Friday, which means it is time to do another First Line Friday post. Today, I am going to be doing another weekly tag called Three Line Tales which I am super excited about.

First Line Friday

So this is a weekly tag hosted by Hoarding Books . All we have to do is pick any book, it can either be our current read, or a book on our TBR, or just something random, and open it to the first page, and share a snippet from there.

Today’s first line is

There was a ship, in space, lost.

Very vague, I know. But what a intriguing first line it is, right? Anyways the book is

Orion Lost by Alastair Chisholm

After a catastrophic Unknown Event leaves the colony ship Orion stranded deep in space, it’s up to thirteen-year-old Beth and her friends to navigate through treacherous and uncharted territory and reach safety.

But a heavily damaged ship, a mysterious alien species, space pirates, and an Artificial Intelligence which Beth suspects may be lying to her mean that getting home has never been so difficult.

Hugely gripping, with incredible twists and a fast-paced, action-packed story, this is an unputdownable science fiction adventure – perfect for fans of Mortal Engines and Star Wars.

This book is on my January TBR. Actually, now that I come to think of it, I really need your help with something. I have to choose between Orion Lost by Alastair Chisholm and Tin by Padraig Kenny, to read in January. If anyone has read either of these, please let me know what you thought of it, and if you have read both, well, your views will be really really helpful.

Three Line Tales (Week 255)

Today I found this, and it looked really interesting because I love writing stories, especially short ones. And word or picture prompts for the story make writing one even more enjoyable.

This has been created by Sonya @Only 100 Words and here’s some basic rules-

  • Write three lines inspired by the photo prompt (& give them a title if possible).
  • Link back to this post (& check the link shows up under the weekly post).
  • Tag your post with 3LineTales (so everyone can find you in the Reader).
  • Read and comment on other TLT participants’ lines.
  • Have fun.

For more details, visit Sonya’s blog!

Today’s photo

three line tales, week 255: a girl in front of an empty canvas getting ready to paint
photo by Ashley Byrd via Unsplash

The white blank canvas sat on the easel, and waited.

The magician in front waved her wand, she let her imagination run wild, she painted.

And the canvas was filled with colours of joy, as everything came to life.

How did you like my three-line story? What comes in your mind when you look at the picture? Let me know in the comments!!

First Line Friday

Hello bookworms, and happy Friday! This is my second First Line Friday post. This is a weekly tag hosted by Hoarding Books

All we have to do is pick any book, it can either be our current read, or a book on our TBR, or just something random, and open it to the first page, and share a snippet from there.

As I had mentioned in my previous First Line Friday post, I will be sharing the first line, and then I will be revealing the name of the book.

In a field full of wild flowers, a boy and a girl stood side by side beneath and ancient oak tree. The sky was angry, the thunder growling like an angry beast.

The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle

When Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins to stir beneath his feet…

Once in a generation, Arranmore Island chooses a new Storm Keeper to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for Fionn’s grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. Soon, a new Keeper will rise.

But, deep underground, someone has been waiting for Fionn. As the battle to become the island’s next champion rages, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling an ancient war.

This book is on my current TBR, and it is also most probably going to be my next read. The synopsis looks intriguing, and I can’t wait to get into it!

What is your first line?
Open the book nearest you and post the first line in the comments below…or you can also create a post on it!

To see others’ First Line posts, and add your post’s link, head over to Hoarding Books!

First Line Friday

Who doesn’t love Fridays? I most certainly do (although days now mean nothing because of the pandemic…but that’s a discussion for later) so I decided to start doing this very famous tag called First Line Friday which is hosted by Hoarding Books.

Basically we just have to pick any book, it can either be our current read, or a book on our TBR, or just something random, and open it to the first page, and share a snippet from there.

So what I am going to do to make this a little more interesting is, that I am first going to share the first line, then I am going to tell you the name of the book I have taken the line from. Let’s see if you can guess the book by reading the first line!

“A person can survive on sixty pounds of beans and three hundred pounds of rice a year. Dinner in the Bloom home tonight is beans and rice for the 365th night in a row. And we ran out of pepper yesterday.”

The book is –

Cured by Bethany Wiggins

Synopsis

Now that Fiona Tarsis and her twin brother, Jonah, are no longer beasts, they set out to find their mother, with the help of Bowen and a former neighbor, Jacqui. Heading for a safe settlement rumored to be in Wyoming, they plan to spread the cure along the way–until they are attacked by raiders. Luckily, they find a new ally in Kevin, who saves them and leads them to safety in his underground shelter. But the more they get to know Kevin, the more they suspect he has ties to the raiders. He also seems to know too many details about Jacqui and her family-details that could endanger them all. For the raiders will do anything they can to destroy the cure that would bring an end to their way of life. Bethany Wiggins’s reimagining of our world after an environmental catastrophe won’t fail to stun readers.

This is my current read (I am at 77% of the book) and so far the story is okay, although I think its prequel, Stung, had been better.

What is your first line?
Open the book nearest you and post the first line in the comments below…or you can also create a post on it!

To see others’ First Line posts, and add your post’s link, head over to Hoarding Books!