I’m back from the dead! // ft. life updates, getting back to reading and taking part in NaNo!

Helloooo! Someone’s still alive here in this part of the blogosphere. Not that you would know, of course. Granted, I disappeared without forewarning, but there was a good reason.

SCHOOL STARTED!! Not really though, but I physically went to school after nearly 2 years of studying online (which, to put it bluntly, I’m sick of). It’s not regular school yet, we just had to go alternate days of the week to give our mid-term examinations, but hey, that’s a step forward right? I felt so exhilarated to finally see students milling about me (yeah milling, but in a social distanced type of way?) and to see the school buildings and the classes, which were like distant memories crouched in a corner of my mind until then. Anyway, in short, I had to go to school physically (for 7 whole days!) and I loved it. (correction. most of it. I’m not a fan of trying to recognise old friends and teachers when 80% of their faces are covered in masks. Especially when they recognised me and said hi. Panic mode on.)

So yeah, that was part of why I couldn’t really be active around the community. Even when I had some time, I couldn’t find the motivation to sit down and write a full post. The excitement of school and the stress of the examinations sucked my energy like bloodthirsty mosquitoes. Hence my absence (that must have left a gaping hole in the blogosphere right? right??) which I’m duly sorry for. But now I do have vacations for a week or so, I’ll definitely try to catch up.

I will be doing a combined october and november wrap later so you’ll know there anyway, but basically October was a TERRIBLE reading month, quantity-wise, for reasons aforementioned (my slump-y mood might have played a part too). I literally did not finish reading a single book for the first half of the month, it was only in the second half that I picked up pace and managed to read something.

BUT. November has started off really well, I already finished two books and I’m positive I’m on a good streak for this month atleast. Yay for that!

Now for the big news. I decided to take part in NaNoWriMo for the first time ever! For those of you who are not aware, this is sort of an annual thing where writers have to write 50000 words of their story in the 30 days of November.

Granted, I didn’t do nearly as much planning for my WIP as a lot of you writers out there, but I am not expecting much too, and that’s okay! I mean, I have made it pretty clear to myself that there’s no way I am going to get even close to 50K words by the end of November (I’ll be on cloud nine even if I get 5K done!) so this time I am just casually taking part and actually doing the outlining I should have done earlier. (I never realized I’ll actually have to pick NAMES for all those characters and places I had in mind) (who was the one who decided having names was a good idea instead of people calling each other “red haired girl” and “bald mustached man” like they do in my head??)

So anyway, I am using the official NaNoWriMo website so feel free to add me as a friend there! My username is ~Rachel~

And, that’s it for today friends! I am seriously so happy to be back, I can’t wait to interact with you all and stay tuned because I have lots of new content coming up!

Did you have a good reading month in October? Are you taking part in NaNoWriMo? Let’s chat in the comments!!

~Rachel

16 thoughts on “I’m back from the dead! // ft. life updates, getting back to reading and taking part in NaNo!

  1. Don’t worry, Rachel, I’m sure your absence left a hugely gaping hole in the blogosphere! Though, not having been around either, I obviously wouldn’t know for sure 😂
    I’m glad you finally got to see people again – though yes, why does everyone else always recognize me when I’m wearing a mask and not the other way around? 😫 – and I wish you the best of luck with non-online school! I’m also very much looking forward to hearing more about the adventures of red-haired girl and bald mustached man. I’m very intrigued 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course it did, what else will I say to console myself haha 😂
      Exactly!! Random person: Hi Rachel!
      Rachel: Hi, umm…
      Random Person: *has to put me out of my torture by telling me their name*
      Haha knowing myself, those characters are going to undergo so many changes by the final draft, they’ll be completely new people lol.
      Thank you so much Naemi 💙

      Liked by 1 person

  2. omg welcome back rachel!! ahh i have to go to in-person school soon too and i’m terrified that I won’t recognise anyone T-T and good luck with NaNo, i’m praying for both of us lmao. hope you have an amazing november!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you rania! ohh good luck with offline school and don’t worry you’re bound to get used to masked faces soon enough (tip: I tried to memorize the colours of people’s masks and uhh… trust me it didn’t work out well)
      yay best of luck to you for NaNo too, appreciate the prayers I desperately need them haha!
      Thank you so much for reading 💙💙

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rachel! It’s great to see you back, ah same for me, physical school is so much better than online school, I’m so happy for you! Lol same, it is true panic mode trying to recognise people with their masks on after such a long time of not meeting them in person! Wishing you all the best with your schools and your exams – you’ve got this!! Also good luck with NaNo! Hope November treats you well too! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right?! And to top it all, literally everybody (except me lol) seems to have undergone a growth spurt during these two years, and even without masks they are pretty much unrecognisable!
      thank you so much Cherelle ☺️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s wonderful you’ve been able to go back in person a little bit!! I’ve been back fully in person since the beginning of the year and it is so weird to see so many people again!! And school’s made it so hard for me to have enough time to blog too; it’s really frustrating, honestly!!

    That’s awesome you’re doing nanowrimo this year!! How is it going for you so far? This is my second year doing it, and although I’m way behind already I’m really enjoying it. What is the book you’re writing about? I hope you have an amazing November!!

    Like

  5. We started in person school too and most of it’s been like people in the hallways saying hi and me saying hi back, wondering who they are lol. It really is so difficult to recognize people when they have masks on. And oh my god, people have GROWN (all except me) like I literally have to bend my head upwards to look at their faces, its embarrassing 😥
    But glad to hear you enjoyed it!
    Good luck with NaNo, and yes, what you said about names 🤣 So trueee

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh really?! Do you live in India too, because I guess it’s one of the last places to open schools?
      IKR! I feel so small in front of my peers, the way I’ve to turn my face up at them is almost comical 😂
      Haha good luck to you too! (I feel like the people who invented names are now just having a good laugh at our expense)

      Like

      1. No, I don’t. Blended learning actually started for us back in September, with 30% offline attendance, I think, and now it’s full 100%, so it’s been some time. Haha, I know 😂
        Thank you Rachel! (yessss)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment