The End Of The Year Book Tag // ft. a fraction of my tbr for 2022!

‘Tis that time of the year, folks! Okay wait no, that doesn’t sound right. I would be saying that if I’d been blogging for decades (or maybe even a couple of years) and this was my 17th time doing this annual tag. Far from it; it’s actually my first time. *sigh* So much for that one line. I’ll go with my usual “hey guys” next time.

Anyway, we have some brilliant bookish questions to answer, so let’s get started, shall we?

~Are there any books you started this year that you still need to finish?~

Not My Problem

King of Scars (King of Scars, #1)

At the time of writing, I am currently reading Not My Problem and King Of Scars. I am almost 60% in the former, but have read only a few pages of the latter. But I definitely hope to finish both in a few days.

~Do you have an autumnal book to transition into the end of the year?~

Small Spaces (Small Spaces, #1)
The Haunting of Aveline Jones

Umm not really. But I do feel obliged to mention a couple of books with autumn vibes, so we are going to go with Small Spaces and The Haunting Of Aveline Jones.

~Is there a new release you’re still waiting for?~

If This Gets Out

If This Gets Out is the last 2021 release I’m waiting for.

~What are three books you want to get to before the end of the year?~

Our Violent Ends
Aurora's End (The Aurora Cycle, #3)
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars, #2)

*nervous chuckle* sooo that’s a difficult one because there are at least a million books I want to read in 2021 (or what’s left of it), you know, books I said I would read this year for sure but never got to them, books on my shelves collecting dust… but that’s a depressing line of thought so let’s move on.

I picked 3 books from my “asap tbr”, which I would very much like to get to immediately, if circumstances allow it. (by which I mean if I somehow manage to acquire a copy of OVE) All 3 are sequels of some sort, and I guess I want to read them this year so that sometime far away in the future (read: next year) I can say that I finished such-and-such series in 2021.

~ is there a book you think could still shock you and become your favorite of the year? ~

Well saying the favourite would be a bit of a stretch, since that spot (and a few spots below it as well) has already been occupied… but yeah I guess there can be a couple additions to my top 10? But also. I’ve learnt that books can surprise you when you least expect it, so no promises.

~ Have you already started making reading plans for 2022? ~

Not plans per say, but of course I’ve a huge tbr laid out for the initial months of 2022. There are SO many amazing releases (just LOOK at those covers!!) coming out next year, and also I have quite a lot of backlist books (books released in 2021 and before) that I want to read, so my tbr is a mix of all these. But (i feel like all of my answers have this ‘but’ element??) then again, who follows tbrs over here right?

Is there a 2021 release you’re still waiting for? Which are your most anticipated 2022 releases? Let me know in the comments!

~ Rachel

21 thoughts on “The End Of The Year Book Tag // ft. a fraction of my tbr for 2022!

  1. This was a good reminder that I, too, still need to read Rule of Wolves. I don’t know why I keep putting it off, but it might be, because I didn’t want the series to end.
    I’m really excited for you to read The Atlas Six next year. It’s one of my favorite reads not just of 2021, but possibly ever! And I also really want to read Portrait of a Thief. It’s among my most anticipated 2022 releases!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha what better reason than that for not finishing a series??
      ooh I am even more excited for TA6 now, I’m so happy you liked it so much!! Yess I was lucky enough to get approved for am arc, so I hope to read Portrait of A Thief soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was so fun to read and WOW, you’ve read a lot this year! Also, I really need to catch up on the grishaverse- I’ve barely even touched the KoS books haaha. I hope you like one of us is lying – it’s supposed to be great! I hope you get to finish your books and your reading goal, too! Happy reading 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thank you Maya!
      Same here, I’ve had KoS on my bookshelf since ages and I got around to reading it only a few days ago (i’m halfway through it and it’s really good so far!)
      Yeah I’ve read amazing reviews of One of us is lying,, have you read it?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. i need to read king of scars at some point haha. and you’re so right, 2022 is PACKED with book releases!! if you enjoy down comes the night, allison saft’s next novel is being releases in march 2022 and it’s even better than her debut💜 i hope you adore all of these!

    Like

    1. Ahh yes please do read it, I haven’t finished it yet but it’s really good so far (it’s got me pining over Matthias all over again haha)
      I know right, literally all of the 2022 releases I know of sound SO intriguing, I have been extremely lucky to get the arcs of a couple of them!! ooh yes I’ve heard of it – A far wilder magic, I believe you’re talking about?
      Thank you so much Kaya!💙

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i’ve read only 2 of my arcs till now, I am drowning in a pile of them haha. but i’ll surely keep you updated on which ones I like once I get through them one by one!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. No rachel, you shall not go back to ‘hey guys’, no. Your intros are the best and I love to hear you speak like someone with so much experience. YES.
    I am honestly SO GLAD you enjoyed Not my Problem!! YESSSS, if this gets out, I NEED it too. aghh, i also need to start keeping a list of new releases for the next year, but i am so unorganized it isn’t even funny anymore. i want to read so many of the books on your 2022 tbr too (down comes the night? The atlas six? DEFINITELY NEED) I really hope you enjoy all of these!! Loved reading this so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ah yes this was the heartening encouragement my intros needed, thank you haha!
      I know! I heard “Boy band” and I was sold right there.
      Ahaha relatable, there are a million releases next year and whenever I find a new one that sounds interesting, I think “going to my tbr for sure” but then I forget to add it and soon it’s lost from memory forever. it’s sad, I know.
      I’ve heard amazing things about both DCTN and TA6, here’s to hoping both of us enjoy them🤞

      Like

Leave a comment